Hit and Run Accident Attorneys
In an article published in USA Today in 2013, hit and run car accidents were increasing in many cities throughout the country.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reported an almost 14 percent increase in accidents where one driver left the scene since 2009.
Causes of Hit and Run Accidents
Many of those killed in these types of accidents are pedestrians, as many as 60 percent according to NHTSA. In a large majority of the crashes, alcohol is a major factor.
In some states, leaving the scene of an accident brings less of a penalty than driving under the influence, even if someone is injured in the crash. Unfortunately this may encourage drivers who are intoxicated to leave after an accident rather than be charged with a DUI.
In some cases, the driver may be unlicensed or be driving on a suspended or revoked license who don’t want to risk additional charges. Reckless or aggressive driving could also lead someone to flee the scene of an accident.
What to Do If You Are a Victim?
If you suffer personal injury after a hit and run, you may not know what to do or where to turn for assistance. There are steps you should take, however, that could make it easier to identify the person who hit you. These include:
- Do not follow the reckless driver. He or she may be dangerous and should not be confronted alone.
- Call 911 immediately and tell the police what happened.
- Provide as many details as you can about the driver and the vehicle, including the license plate number.
- Collect information from witnesses and write down their contact information.
- If possible, preserve any evidence at the accident scene.
- Take photographs of the motor vehicle and accident site.
- Call the Hit and Run Attorneys at Lundy Law
A Hit and Run Accident and Your Insurance Company
In Pennsylvania and Delaware, if you are involved in a hit and run car accident, your insurance company will cover your damages under the Uninsured Motorist portion of your policy. Under this coverage, you can file a claim for bodily injury, losses to personal property, loss future earnings and other economic losses. Another portion of your insurance policy covers medical payments.
In New Jersey, coverage for the car accident will fall under the no-fault provision of your policy. If you are injured as a pedestrian, your health insurance should cover any medical payments, but will not cover other damages, such as lost wages or personal property damage.
If you or a loved one suffered a Hit and Run Accident in a Pennsylvania, Delaware or New Jersey, or if a loved one has died of injuries sustained in a hit and run, you need to speak to a personal injury attorney to learn what rights you may have.
Contact Lundy Law today by completing the simple form on our website or give us a call at 1-800-Lundy Law to arrange your consultation to discuss how you can get the compensation you deserve for your injuries.